Just another WordPress.com site

Tun of Fun

I had a chance to spend the evening at Tun Tavern last night for my birthday and had a great meal and, of course, plenty of great beer! Tun is located just of the Atlantic City Expressway across the street from the AC  Convention Center so it couldn’t be easier to get to. There’s even free parking directly across the street with validation! We came in to the high-ceilinged dining room/bar area and warmed ourselves up with a look around before taking our seats at the bar. We sat at the end near the taps and just alongside the large brewing tank that sits behind glass at the corner of the building. The piping was so close that it seemed I could take my pint glass over for a refill. Tun has a rich history starting with the first brew house in Philadelphia and Atlantic City’s first brew pub. It is also credited with being the site where the US Marine Corps was founded. Let’s talk about the beers:

There are five standards and one seasonal on tap at all times as well as some special offerings that may switch up more frequently. We had a nice selection last night and we decided to run the gamut before committing to any single pint. They offer a sampler of five beers and our friendly barkeep gave us a taste of the other two Tun flavors on tap.

Tun Light Golden Ale – This one is aptly named, but don’t be fooled– this is no “Lite” beer. Its full flavor reminds me of a crisp pilsener. The Light was very refreshing and very fresh-tasting, which may have something to do with that big machine in the next room!

Irish Red – A nice fresh red ale, this beer starts very malty but light. It has a nice bite on the finish and it drinks very quickly.

Devil Dog Pale Ale – Here are my hops! Devil Dog is full of them and they are delicious. There is a floral hop aroma followed by the floral/pine hop taste that I love! I drank a few of these and it never got old.

 Leather-Neck Stout – Now we’re getting to the dark stuff.. and the Leather Neck is Dark! It has a very dark-roasted flavor of chocolate, caramel, and coffee. It’s a bit light for a stout, but the flavor takes over your mouth! A great brew for its namesake Marines or the average wimpy beer drinker like myself.

All-American IPA – The name just made me curious, but on first taste I was hooked on this one as well. Light and very hoppy, there was an interesting blend and great citrus hop taste with bitterness on the finish. It’s got a very clean taste. This one is touted as being hopped with fresh Jersey-grown hops as well so you get a local taste of freshness!

Maple Black Walnut Brown Ale – I knew from the moment I saw the name of this beer that I would love it. There’s a delicious maple taste that doesn’t go overboard. A good medium-bodied brown with a full flavor. It drinks slowly and gets better as it warms a bit. Lots of subtle tastes in this one; nutty and delicious. I only had one of these, but it was a good one. It’s a limited release so get there soon!

Santa’s Little Helper Barleywine – I was warned about this one and rightly so– it’s strong and sweet! I’m not too familiar with barleywines, but this one had a very rich flavor with fruity notes. It has a distinctive alcohol taste that is complemented by the sweetness. I only had the sample, as I’m pretty sure I couldn’t have handled a full glass last night! Maybe next time. It was just tapped for the winter so get out and try one yourself!

Along with the great beer selection, my girlfriend and I both had a delicious meal (the Mushroom Ravioli is fantastic) and a great time. Tun is a wonderful place to go on a date or just for a few drinks– the bar and restaurant provide a nice setting for either. It’s always nice to spend a night sampling a brewery’s offerings and not a bad way to spend a birthday if I say so myself! There was quite a variety in the selection and they all tasted very fresh, which is another perk of drinking at the source. And if you can’t get back as often as you’d like you can pick up a growler of your favorite brew. I’ll be coming back soon, Tun Tavern! Until I see you again, drink up!

-Don

Leave a comment